When the ASPC was founded in 1985, its members were physicians and educators, including frequent recipients of the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Preventive Cardiology Academic Award (PCAA). The organization’s goals were developing programs that enhanced basic and clinical education and initiating or expanding interdisciplinary clinical services and research initiatives in preventive cardiology.

In recent years, the ASPC’s focus shifted from acting as an insular organization of academic experts to one with a focused vision of the interdisciplinary value it can bring to the broader healthcare and scientific community. The ASPC currently represents the increasingly multidisciplinary group of healthcare providers (including nurses, nurse practitioners, dieticians, and other healthcare specialists in addition to physicians) along with researchers and industry representatives who share an interest in and passion for preventive cardiology.

In 2005 The American Society for Preventive Cardiology was officially incorporated in Connecticut. The ASPC was granted 501(c)(3) status in 2007. Since then, the ASPC has grown to over 1300 members across the US, Canada, and internationally.

ASPC Past Presidents

2020-2022 Peter P. Toth, MD, PhD
2018-2020 Amit Khera, MD, MSc
2016-2018 Seth J. Baum, MD
2014-2016 Laurence S. Sperling, MD
2012-2014 Stephen Kopecky, MD
2010-2012 Nathan Wong, PhD
2008-2010 Peter Wilson, MD
2006 – 2008 Douglas Schocken, MD
2005 Lori Mosca, MD
2004 Michael Miller, MD
2003 Frank Franklin, MD
2002 Norman Lasser, MD
2001 John Crouse, MD
2000 Francisco Fuentes, MD
1999 Christine Williams, MD
1998 Marian Limacher, MD
1996-1997 Robert Wild, MD
1995-1996 Henry Black, MD
1994 Patrick McBride, MD
1992-1993 Phillip Liebson, MD
1991 Ezra Amsterdam, MD
1990 Dennis Davidson, MD
1989 Richard Carleton, MD

ASPC History publication

ASPC History video