Fellow of the ASPC

Fellow of the ASPC (FASPC) is recognition reserved for ASPC members who have demonstrated their commitment to cardiovascular disease prevention and the ASPC. The Fellow program gives our members a new way to show their commitment.

Benefits of FASPC

  • Entitled to use the designation FASPC (Fellow of the American Society for Preventive Cardiology) as a professional credential
  • Complimentary registration to the ASPC's Congress on ASCVD Prevention and recognition during the meeting*
  • Recognition FELLOW ribbon when attending the ASPC's Congress
  • FASPC certificate and lapel pin confirming designation
  • Inclusion in an annually published roster of new Fellows in the official journal of the ASPC, and on the ASPC website

*Complimentary registration will start at the next Congress after confirmation

2020 Application Timeline

Application window for 2020 Class of Fellows of the ASPC will open September 1, 2020.
Application Deadline: December 30, 2020
Notice of Confirmation: January 31, 2021
Confirmation Ceremony: 2021 ASPC Congress on CVD Prevention
Once confirmed, Fellows may begin using the FASPC designation. The Fellow dues rate will go into affect the following calendar year after confirmation.

Eligibility Criteria

If an ASPC member would like to apply for FASPC membership, they must adhere to the following criteria:

1.  Membership: Applicant must be an active Regular, International, or Industry member* in good standing for the last three (3) consecutive years prior to applying for Fellow status.

2.  Education: Applicant must be one of the following:

  • Physician (MD or DO) focused in cardiovascular disease prevention, or
  • Actively involved in cardiovascular disease prevention with a doctorate level degree in a full time academic and/or cardiovascular disease prevention related position

3.  Service to the ASPC: In the past three years of active membership the applicant must have completed two (2) of the following:

  • Attend one annual meeting, or
  • Attend and complete Preventive Cardiology Experts Course or
  • Actively participate on an ASPC Committee or Board of Directors, or
  • Complete 20 hours of CME offered by ASPC, or
  • Publish an article in ASPC’s Journal, American Journal of Preventive Cardiology
  • Acceptance of abstract/poster to annual meeting

*In-Training members are not eligible for Fellow of the ASPC

**Please attach FASPC Checklist to your application for quick reference
Download FASPC Checklist


Fellows are required to maintain their active membership status and be current on their dues. Membership dues for Fellows is $365. The Fellow dues rate will go into affect the calendar year following confirmation.

Renewal of FASPC

Once approved a Fellow must keep current in annual dues and participate in at least one of the following activities every three (3) consecutive years:

  • Attend at least one annual meeting, or
  • Attend and complete EXPERTS Course or
  • Actively participate on an ASPC Committee or Board of Directors, or
  • Complete 20 hours of CME offered by ASPC, or
  • Publish an article in ASPC’s Journal, American Journal of Preventive Cardiology
  • Submission and acceptance of abstract/poster to annual meeting

Application Process

Applicants will be asked to send two letters of recommendation, a personal statement, a current CV, and the FASPC Checklist to contact@aspconline.org


Peter Abel, MD, FASPC
Ezra Amsterdam, MD, FASPC
Rolf Andersen, MD, FASPC
Wilbert Aronow, MD, FASPC
Christie Ballantyne, MD, FASPC
Boisey Barnes, MD, FASPC
Seth Baum, MD, FASPC
Harold Bays, MD, FASPC
Deepak Bhatt, MD, MPH, FASPC
Ron Blankstein, MD, FASPC
Zach Bloomgarden, MD, FASPC
Roger Blumenthal, MD, FASPC
William Boden, MD FASPC
LaPrincess Brewer, MD, FASPC
Alan Brown, MD, FASPC
Gregory Cohn, MD, FASPC
Michael Davidson, MD, FASPC
Paul Dlabal, MD, FASPC
Anthony Dike, MD, FASPC
Daniel Duprez, MD, FASPC
Mahfouz El Shahawy, MD, MS, FASPC
Sergio Fazio, MD, PhD, FASPC
Keith Ferdinand, MD, FASPC
Herbert Fischer, MD, FASPC
Tobin Fisher, MD, FASPC
Joel Forman, MD, FASPC
Francisco Fuentes, MD, FASPC
Martha Gulati, MD, FASPC
Henry Haire, MD, FASPC
Yehuda Handelsman, MD, FASPC
Douglas Harrington, MD, FASPC
Amit Khera, MD, FASPC
Josh Knowles, MD, FASPC
Stephen Kopecky, MD FASPC
Mikhail Kosiborod, MD, FASPC
Brad Lipson, DO, FASPC
J. Antonio Lopez, MD, FASPC

Albert Lopez, DO, FASPC
Francisco Lopez-Jimenez, MD, FASPC
Lee Marcus, MD FASPC
David Maron, MD, FASPC
Seth Martin, MD, MHS, FASPC
Robert Megna, DO, MS, FASPC
Erin Michos, MD, MHS, FASPC
John Miles, MD, FASPC
Michael Miller, MD, FASPC
Guy Mintz, MD, FASPC
Patrick Moore, MD, FASPC
Brian Moraes, DO, FASPC
Pamela Morris, MD, FASPC
Khurram Nasir, MD, MPH, FASPC
Ann Marie Navar, MD, PhD, FASPC
Dharmesh Patel, MD, FASPC
Gregory Pokrywka, MD, FASPC
Mustafa Rahim, MD, FASPC
Panteha Rezaeian, MD, FASPC
Anup Sabharwal, MD, MBA, FASPC
Douglas Schocken, MD, FASPC
Michael Shapiro, DO, FASPC
Steven Shayani, MD, FASPC
Laurence Sperling, MD, FASPC
Randeep Suneja, MD, FASPC
Robert Superko, MD, FASPC
Pam Taub, MD, FASPC
Peter Toth, MD, PhD, FASPC
Robert Touchon, MD, FASPC
James Underberg, MD, MS, FASPC
Kari Uusinarkaus, MD, FASPC
Vijay Vinod, MD, FASPC
Salim Virani, MD, PhD, FASPC
Robert Vranian, MD, FASPC
Howard Weintraub, MD, FASPC
Cezary Wojcik, MD, PhD, DSc, FASPC
Nathan Wong, PhD, FASPC