William B. Kannel Memorial Lectureship

Presented at the AHA Epi-Prevention and Lifestyle Meeting

History of the Lectureship:

One recent awardee of note for the Joseph Stokes Award was William B. Kannel, MD former director of the Framingham Heart Study. Dr. Kannel has been credited with popularizing the key risk-factor contributions of the Framingham Study, establishing the roles of cigarette smoking, cholesterol, and blood pressure as key risk factors for CVD. Current Framingham Heart Study director Daniel Levy, MD, recently said of Dr. Kannel’s contributions, “In 1961, with just two words, Bill helped to change our understanding of the underlying causes of heart disease and stroke, the entire field of preventive cardiology was born. Those two words were ‘risk factors.’ They represented a quantum leap in 20th-century medical thinking. No longer would heart disease be viewed as an inevitable condition that struck people in the prime of life without warning, but rather, there were risk factors underlying the disease, and identifying them would lead to new treatments to prevent the leading killer of men and women in our country.” Dr. Kannel was given the Stokes Award in March 2011, shortly after which he published the proceedings of his acceptance speech, “Sixty Years of Preventive Cardiology: A Framingham Perspective,” in the ASPC official journal Clinical Cardiology, just months before his death that summer. Dr. Kannel’s legacy has also been recognized by the ASPC by the joint creation in 2014 (by the ASPC and the AHA Council on Epidemiology and Prevention) of the annual William B. Kannel Memorial Lectureship in Preventive Cardiology.


Previous Winners of the Kannel Lectureship:

2020 Donald M. Lloyd-Jones, MD, ScM
2019 Vasan Ramachandran, MD
2018 Emelia J. Benjamin, MD, ScM
2017 Christopher J. O’Donnell, MD, MPH
2016 Peter W.F. Wilson, MD
2015 Daniel Levy, MD
2014 Jeremiah Stamler, MD