Pioneer in Prevention Award

History of the Award:

Previously named the Leaders in Medicine Award, the Pioneer in Prevention Award is bestowed on individuals who have profoundly impacted cardiovascular disease prevention by taking the field in a whole new direction.

2022 Pioneer in Prevention Award Recipient

Scott M. Grundy, MD, PhD
Professor, Center for Human Nutrition
Chairman, Department of Clinical Nutrition
Director, Clinical and Translational Research Center
UT Southwestern Medical Center

Scott M. Grundy, M.D., Ph.D., is the director of the Center for Human Nutrition, Chairman of the Department of Clinical Nutrition, and director of the Clinical and Translational Research Center (CTRC) at UT Southwestern Medical Center, and chief of diabetes and metabolic diseases at the Veterans Affairs Medical Center, in Dallas, Texas. He is also a Distinguished Professor of Internal Medicine at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School in Dallas. Previously he was on the faculty at the University of California, San Diego, the National Institutes of Health Phoenix Clinical Research Unit, the Rockefeller University, New York City, and Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas. Dr. Grundy received his M.D. degree from Baylor College of Medicine, Houston and his Ph.D. from the Rockefeller University.

Dr. Grundy has been a member of, or chaired, a number of American Heart Association committees, including the Arteriosclerosis Council, Nutrition Committee, Task Force on Risk Reduction, and Task Force on Cholesterol. He has chaired the Adult Treatment Panel of the National Cholesterol Education Program (NCEP) and is a member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation, the American Association of Physicians, and the National Academies of Sciences Institute of Medicine.

Dr. Grundy received The Award of Merit from The American Heart Association in 1983. He gave the Lydia J. Roberts Memorial Lecture in Chicago in 1988 and the George Lyman Duff Lecture at the 1990 AHA meeting in Dallas. In 1990, he was awarded an honorary degree in medicine from the University of Helsinki, Finland. In 1994, he received the Roger J. Williams Award in preventive nutrition. He was made a member of the Institute of Medicine in 1996 and in 1997 and 1998 he received the Bristol Myers Squibb Award for Distinguished Achievement in Nutrition Research and the American Society for Clinical Nutrition's E.V. McCollum award, respectively. In 2000, Dr. Grundy received the American Heart Association Discovery Award. In 2002, he gave the 75th Anniversary Lecture of the Council on Nutrition, Physical Activity and Metabolism of the American Heart Association, and in 2003, the 3rd Annual Stare-Hegsted Lecture. Harvard School of Public Health. and the American Heart Association Robert I. Levy Memorial Lecture. In 2005, Dr. Grundy was named a Distinguished Scientist of the American Heart Association. In 2009 received the American Heart Association’s Gold Heart Award.

Previous recipients:

2021 Suzanne Oparil, MD
2020 Arthur Agatston, MD
2019 Mark Sussman, PhD