Nanette Wenger Lectureship

History of the Nanette Wenger Lectureship:

When Nanette K. Wenger, MD, professor of medicine in the division of cardiology at Emory University School of Medicine began her career, heart disease was something doctors thought only affected men. Today, the American Society for Preventive Cardiology honors her significant contributions as a champion for women’s heart health with a lectureship in her name. “Dr. Wenger is an icon in many aspects of cardiology, but perhaps her greatest achievement involves her commitment to exposing the previously unrecognized toll cardiovascular disease takes on women,” says Seth J. Baum, MD, immediate past president of the American Society for Preventive Cardiology. “It is safe to say that without Dr. Wenger’s tireless efforts; women’s cardiovascular care would not have advanced to where it is today. We all owe her a tremendous debt of gratitude. There is no one who could better speak to the cause of women and heart health than Dr. Nanette K. Wenger."

2022 Nanette Wenger, MD Award Recipient


Carl J. Pepine, MD, MACC
Professor Of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
University of Florida College of Medicine
Gainesville, FL



Carl J. Pepine, MD, is a doctor in the Division of Cardiovascular Medicine at the University of Florida College of Medicine. He graduated from the University of Pittsburgh in 1962 with his bachelor’s degree.

As he started medical school at Rutgers in New Jersey, Dr. Pepine stayed in the northeast for his internship at Allegheny General Hospital, a University of Pittsburgh affiliate. His two residencies were at Jefferson Medical College Hospital and Regional Naval Medical Center. He completed both fellowships in 1971 and became board certified in Internal Medicine.

He is currently a principal investigator of many NIH- and industry-funded research projects on cardiovascular disease in women, IHD, hypertension, heart failure, and cell-based therapy, with continuous peer-reviewed federal research funding (DoD, NIH, VA Merit) for over 40 years.

Dr. Pepine served as Chief of the UF Division of Cardiovascular Medicine from 1998–2008 and Chief of Cardiology, VA Medical Center, from 1978–1994. He has published more than 970 scientific publications, has edited 6 textbooks, and has been on the editorial boards of all major cardiovascular journals. He is the founding editor of Cardiology Today and Editor-in-Chief for American Heart Journal Plus: Cardiology Research and Practice. Dr. Pepine is currently the co-director of CTSI Multi-site Study Support Team at the National Center for Research.

Previous Winners of the Nanette Wenger Lectureship

2021 JoAnn Manson, MD, MPH, DrPH
2020 Leslee J. Shaw, PhD, FACC, MASNC, FAHA, FSCCT
2019 Martha Gulati, MD, MS, FACC, FAHA
2018 Lori Mosca
2016 Roxana Mehran
2015 Mary McGowan