Joseph Stokes III, MD Award

History of the Award:

Presented annually, the Stokes Award commemorates Joseph Stokes III, MD (1924–1989), the famed cardiologist and epidemiologist who contributed so much to the field as well as to the ASPC. The award is bestowed on individuals who have demonstrated a lifetime achievement in preventive cardiology.

2022 Joseph Stokes III, MD Award Recipient

Donna K. Arnett, PhD, MSPH, BSN
Dean | Professor of Epidemiology
University of Kentucky College of Public Health
Lexington, KY


Dr. Arnett is Dean of the University of Kentucky College of Public Health and a Professor in the Department of Epidemiology.  Prior to her appointment at UK in 2016, Dr. Arnett was Associate Dean and Chair of the Department of Epidemiology at the University of Alabama, Birmingham. With 24 years of continuous NIH funding, Dr. Arnett studies genes related to hypertensive disorders and organ damage that results from hypertension -- an interest she developed early in her career while working as a clinical research nurse.

A past president of the American Heart Association (AHA), she has led the AHA's Research Committee and Scientific Publishing Committee. Dr. Arnett is also an elected fellow of the AHA, the American College of Epidemiology, and the American Epidemiological Society. She has more than 20 years of experience leading the recruitment and oversight of large, multi-site cohort studies, including the Minnesota Heart Survey and the NIH-sponsored clinical study "The Genetics of Lipid Lowering and Diet Network" (GOLDN).

Dr. Arnett has published more than 600 peer-reviewed papers and two books. In 2017 she received the Population Research Prize from the American Heart Association. In 2019 she was named a World Expert in Hypertension by Expertscape, a recognition earned by being in the top 0.076 percent of scholars writing about hypertension over the past ten years.

Previous Winners of the Joseph Stokes Award:

2021 Nathan Wong, PhD, MPH, FASPC
2020 Paul Ridker, MD, MPH
2019 Daniel Levy, MD
2018 Neil Stone, MD
2017 Donald Lloyd-Jones, MD, ScM
2016 Aaron Folsom, MD
2015 Virgil Brown, MD
2014 Nanette Wenger, MD
2013 Sidney C. Smith Jr., MD
2012 Jeremiah Stamler, MD
2011 William B. Kannel, MD, MPH
2010 Ezra Amsterdam, MD
2009 Lewis Kuller, MD, PhD

2008 Robert Eckel, MD
2007 John Robin Crouse III, MD
2006 Darwin Labarthe, MD, MPH, PhD
2005 Stephen P. Fortmann, MD
2004 Curt Furberg, MD
2003 Elizabeth Barrett-Connor, MD
2002 Philip Greenland, MD
2001 Michael Criqui, MD, MPH
2000 Shiriki Kumanyika, PhD, MPH
1999 John W. Farquhar, MD & Russell V. Luepker, MD
1998 Gerald Berenson, MD
1997 Thomas A. Pearson, MD, PhD
1996 Elaine Stone, PhD, MPH