Honorary Fellow of the ASPC Award

History of the Fellow Award:

The American Society for Preventive Cardiology is committed to advancing comprehensive cardiovascular disease prevention and honors those who share in this commitment. Each year, we will identify one individual who has made extraordinary contributions to the field of preventive cardiology through groundbreaking research, exemplary clinical care, and/or excellence in education. The ASPC recognizes this individual for his/her extensive contributions with the designation honorary Fellow of the American Society for Preventive Cardiology (FASPC). We will bestow an honorary FASPC on a select few practitioners who are deemed by the Board of Directors of ASPC to distinguish themselves in all aspects of Preventive Cardiology. This award is presented at the ASPC Congress on CVD Prevention that occurs every July.

2022 Honorary Fellow of ASPC Award Recipient

Pam S. Douglas, MD, MACC, FASE, FAHA

Professor of Medicine
Ursula Geller Distinguished Professor for Research in Cardiovascular Disease, in the School of Medicine
Member in the Duke Clinical Research Institute




Pamela S Douglas, MD
is the Ursula Geller Professor of Research in Cardiovascular Diseases in the Department of Medicine at Duke University. She has led several landmark multicenter randomized clinical trials and outcomes research studies and is renowned for her scientific and policy work in improving the quality and appropriateness of imaging in clinical care, clinical trials, and registries.

Dr. Douglas helped to establish several important specialty areas including heart disease in women, sports cardiology, and cardio-oncology. Dr. Douglas’ wealth of experience includes authorship of over 550 peer reviewed manuscripts and 30 practice guidelines, service as the President of the American College of Cardiology, President of the American Society of Echocardiography, and Chief of Cardiology at both the University of Wisconsin-Madison and Duke University. She has served on the External Advisory Council of the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute and the Scientific Advisory Boards of the National Space Biomedical Institute and the Patient Advocate Foundation. Among her most cherished recognitions are the naming in her honor of the American College of Cardiology’s Distinguished Leadership Award in Diversity and Inclusion and the American Society of Echocardiography’s Research Scholar Award.

Previous Winners of the Honorary Fellow of the ASPC Award

2021 Clyde Yancy, MD, MSc, FASPC
2020 Nanette K. Wenger, MD, MACC, MACP, FAHA, FASPC
2019 Valentin Fuster, MD, PhD